The Society’s Annual Dinner and Silent Auction, usually held in the fall, is one of the Society’s signature national programs. Over the years the Dinner has welcomed and honored some of America’s and Japan’s most distinguished leaders.

The Dinner and Silent Auction are a primary source of support for the Japan-America Society’s many educational and cultural activities, which introduce Japan and Japanese culture to the residents of the Nation’s Capital Region.

2019: The 33rd Annual Dinner

The 2019 Annual Dinner was held on Wednesday, November 20 at the Fairmont Washington, D.C., Georgetown., and featured a panel conversation on the “Japan-US Relations: Views of Washington’s Top Experts” featuring Richard Fontaine (President, CNAS), Sheila Smith (Senior Fellow for Japan Studies, CFR), and Mike Green (Japan Chair, CSIS) and moderated by JASWDC Co-Vice Chair Emma Chanlett-Avery (Specialist in Asian Affairs, Congressional Research Service). The Annual Dinner reception and silent auction also featured sushi by Sushi Nakazawa, and sake from Nanbu Bijin, North American Sake Brewery, and Hakkutsuru.  To view the 33rd Annual Dinner Photo Gallery click here.

Japanese Defense Minister Kono Taro accepts the Marshall Green Award in absentia at the 33rd Annual Dinner

Our 2019 Sponsors

Kiku (Chrysanthemum)

Mitsubishi Corporation (Americas)
S&R Foundation

Tsubaki (Camellia)

Astellas US LLC
Sasakawa Peace Foundation USA

Akizakura (Cosmos)

Aflac International
Hitachi, Ltd.
ITOCHU International Inc.
Marubeni America Corporation
McLarty Associates
Mitsubishi Heavy Industries America, Inc.
Mitsui & Co. (U.S.A.), Inc.
MUFG Bank, Ltd.
Sumitomo Corporation of Americas
Toshiba America, Inc.
Toyota Motor North America, Inc.

Momiji (Maple)

NEC Corporation of America
Japan Automobile Manufacturers Association, Inc.


Annual Dinner Speakers

1987 Senator John D. Rockefeller IV
1988 Ezra Vogel, Professor, Harvard University
1989 Yotaro Kobayashi, Chairman, Fuji Xerox
  Hon. Dick Gephardt, House Majority Leader
1990 Hon. Tom Foley, Speaker of the House
1991 Yasuhiro Nakasone, Former Prime Minister
1992 Hon. Paul A. Volcker, Former Chairman of the Federal Reserve
1993 Toyoo Gyoten, Chairman, Bank of Tokyo and former Vice Minister of Finance
1994 Hon. Mike Mansfield, former US Ambassador to Japan and former Senate Majority Leader
1995 Dr. Shoichiro Toyoda, Chairman, Toyota Motors & Chairman, Keidanren
1996 Hon. Tony Lake, Special Assistant to the President for National Security Affairs
1997 Hon. Tom Foley, Ambassador to Japan
1998 Hon. Stuart Eizenstadt, Under Secretary of State for Economic, Business & Agricultural Affairs
1999 Minoru Makihara, Chairman, Mitsubishi Corporation
2000 Tom Friedman, New York Times
2001 Hon. Tom Foley, Former US Ambassador to Japan
2002 Sadako Ogata, former United Nations
2003 No Dinner was held
2004 Hon. Norman Mineta, Secretary of Transportation and former Secretary of Commerce
2005 Taizo Nishimuro, Chairman, Toshiba Corporation and Chairman, US-Japan Business Council
  Hon. Howard Baker, former US Ambassador to Japan, former Senate Majority Leader, and former White House Chief of Staff
2006 No Dinner was held
2007 Senator Daniel K. Inouye
2008 Mr. Yuzaburo Mogi, Chairman and CEO, The Kikkoman Corporation
2009 Senator Jim Webb from Virginia
2010 Ambassador Tom Schieffer, Former US Ambassador to Japan
2011 Professor Gerald Curtis, Burgess Professor of Political Science at Columbia University
2012 Hon. Kurt Campbell, Chairman & CEO of the Asia Group, LLC & Former Assistant Secretary of State for East Asian and Pacific Affairs
2013 Dr. Michael J. Green, Senior Vice President for Asia and Japan Chair, CSIS & Associate Professor at the Edmund A. Walsh School of Foreign Service at Georgetown University
2014 Dr. George R. Packard, President of the United States – Japan Foundation & Adjunct Professor, Department of Political Science at Columbia University
2015 Congressman Joaquin Castro, U.S House of Representatives (TX), Co-chair of U.S.-Japan Congressional Caucus
2016 Special Guest Panel: David E. Sanger (The New York Times), Jacob Schlesinger (The Wall Street Journal), Sheila Smith (Council on Foreign Relations, Moderator)
2017 Deputy Secretary of Defense Patrick Shanahan
2018 Special Guest Panel: Congressman Joaquin Castro (Texas), Congressman French Hill (Arkansas)

The Marshall Green Award

The JASWDC Board of Trustees established the Marshall Green Award in 2011 to recognize “an individual or a group that has made a sustained and significant contribution to strengthening relations between the United States and Japan, and/or to increasing understanding between the American and Japanese people.”

2011 Dr. Gerlad L. Curtis
Amb. Thomas S. Foley
Amb. William C. Sherman
2012 Dr. George R. Packard
Amb. Yoshio Okawara
2013 Amb. Ichiro Fujisaki
Mr. William Breer & Mrs. Peggy Breer
2014 Washington Toho Koto Society
100th Infantry Battalion, the 442nd Regimental Combat Team and the Nisei who served in the Military Intelligence Service
2015 Prime Minister Yashuiro Nakasone
Ms. Wendy Cutler
2016 Amb. Rust M. Deming & Mrs. Kristen Deming
The American Association for Teachers of Japanese (AATJ)
2017 Amb. Walter F. Mondale
Amb. Michael H. Armacost
Dr. Sachiko Kuno


The Honorable Norman Y. Mineta
Mrs. Nobuko Sasae

Due to the developing COVID-19 situation, JASWDC has moved to postpone the Sakura Matsuri - Japanese Street FestivalRead More